Best Online Cognitive Psychology Degree Programs (2027)
Updated August 29, 202625+ min read

Best Online Cognitive Psychology Degree Programs (2027)

Compare accredited programs by cost, outcomes, and flexibility to find the right fit for your career goals.

What you’ll learn in this article…

  • Online cognitive psychology degrees are available at bachelor's, master's, and doctoral levels with timelines ranging from four to seven or more years.
  • BLS does not track cognitive psychologists separately, so salary benchmarks rely on the Psychologists, All Other category, with state medians varying widely.
  • Graduates increasingly land roles outside traditional psychology in UX research, product development, and AI, often at higher pay than clinical tracks.
  • Only about 5% of online psychology master's programs required the GRE in the 2023 to 2024 cycle, lowering a major admissions barrier.

Demand for cognitive psychology expertise has expanded well beyond clinical offices: UX research teams, AI development labs, and behavioral health startups now recruit graduates with training in perception, memory, attention, and decision-making. That shift has pushed enrollments upward and prompted more universities to build fully online options at every degree level, from bachelor's completion programs to research-focused PhDs.

The 30 programs ranked here span that full range. Net prices after aid vary considerably, from under $2,000 at Texas A&M University-Central Texas to over $19,000 at schools like Oregon State University and Harvard, so cost alone should not drive the comparison. Program type, degree level, and accreditation status all affect which careers remain open after graduation.

One persistent tension for prospective students: the title "cognitive psychologist" carries no single licensure pathway. Clinical roles require state licensure tied to accredited doctoral training, while research and industry roles hinge more on institutional reputation and the skill set a program develops. Knowing which track you are on before applying shapes every other decision.

Top Online Cognitive Psychology Programs

The psychology degrees below make cognitive psychology genuinely accessible to distance learners, whether they are finishing a bachelor's on a fully online schedule or completing a hybrid master's built around cognition and research methods. The list is ordered by a balanced quality composite rather than lowest tuition or fastest completion. Two reading notes apply to every program card: graduation rates are institution-wide measures, and net prices are averages after financial aid, not the sticker price a single student pays.

How we ranked these
Factors considered
  • Graduation and retention rates
  • Net price after aid
  • Post graduation earnings
  • Program emphasis on cognition
  • Accessibility for online learners
Data sources
  • Federal College Scorecard outcomes data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Program-level records maintained in house
  • Original research on individual programs
  • National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS) covering student-faculty ratios, net price and graduation rates — nces.ed.gov
FL

Florida International University

Miami, FL · ~$9,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution
Best for: Students seeking a named cognitive and neuroscience track

Florida International University, a large public research institution in Miami, has the most direct online cognitive psychology pathway on this list: a psychology bachelor's with a named Cognitive and Neuroscience concentration among six subdiscipline tracks. The curriculum stresses scientific methods and offers an Applied Behavior Analysis track that prepares students for BCaBA certification. An institution-wide six-year graduation rate near 74 percent and an average net price after aid of roughly $9,300 make it a strong outcome for a large access-focused university. Online students also have access to research involvement, advising, student organizations and a combined bachelor's to MPA route.

  • Bachelor of Arts in Psychology — Online
    Florida International University
    • Cognitive and Neuroscience concentration among six tracks
    • ABA track prepares students for BCaBA certification
    • Combined bachelor's and MPA pathway offered
    • Research and student organization involvement online
    • Institution-wide six-year graduation rate near 74 percent
    Visit Website
TE

Texas A&M University-Central Texas

Killeen, TX · under $5,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution
Best for: Community college transfers wanting flexible research access

Texas A&M University-Central Texas, a public institution in the Texas A&M system, delivers a psychology bachelor's with strong coursework in cognitive, comparative, social and developmental psychology. Faculty research projects give undergraduates direct experience, from trauma response studies to online learning research, which builds the kind of portfolio that supports later cognitive psychology graduate applications. Seamless community college transfer pathways and a flexible mix of live and self-directed study make it a realistic choice for students with jobs or families.

  • Bachelor of Science in Psychology
    Texas A&M University-Central Texas
    • 120 total credit hours
    • Covers cognitive, social, comparative and developmental psychology
    • Faculty research opportunities in trauma and online learning
    • Transfer pathways built for community college students
    • Mix of live group sessions and self-directed study
HA

Harvard University

Cambridge, MA · $55,000 – $60,000/yr

Best for: Career changers preparing for doctoral psychology study

Harvard University offers the master's level option in this ranking through Harvard Extension School: a Master of Liberal Arts in psychology that foregrounds cognition, emotion, cognitive neuroscience and research methods. The program is explicitly non-licensure, which makes its thesis or capstone path a purpose-built bridge to doctoral study in cognitive psychology and related fields. Students pay $3,440 per course, benefit from performance-based admissions, and can join paid research through the Faculty Aide Program. Harvard's institution-wide six-year graduation rate is about 98 percent, and the average net price after aid is roughly $19,100.

  • Master of Liberal Arts (ALM) in Extension Studies, Field: Psychology — Hybrid
    Harvard University
    • Twelve courses: 11 online plus one on-campus experience
    • Complete in 2 to 5 years; four start terms yearly
    • Thesis or capstone can center on cognitive research topics
    • Tuition of $3,440 per course with aid after admission
    • Performance-based admissions process
    • Paid research roles via Faculty Aide Program
    • Stackable graduate certificates available
    Visit Website
UN

University of West Florida

Pensacola, FL · $5,000 – $10,000/yr

University of West Florida's online Bachelor of Arts in Psychology teaches students to approach human behavior with scientific reasoning, research skills and clear professional writing. The course lineup includes cognitive psychology and cognitive neuroscience alongside opportunities to explore career settings such as schools, hospitals and industry. Its 120 credit hours can be completed in 24 to 48 months, and the institution-wide six-year graduation rate is around 59 percent.

  • Bachelor of Arts in Psychology — Online
    University of West Florida
    • 120 credit hours over 24 to 48 months
    • Cognitive Psychology and Cognitive Neuroscience covered
    • Emphasis on research skills and professional writing
    • Career paths in schools, hospitals and industry
    • Apply behavioral questions to real-world problems
    Visit Website
GE

George Mason University

Fairfax, VA · $15,000 – $20,000/yr

George Mason University, a public research university near Washington, D.C., offers its psychology bachelor's as either a BS or BA with eight concentrations, including Cognitive and Behavioral Neuroscience. Required lab courses and a professional development component reflect the department's emphasis on applied research that reaches public policy and national defense. That D.C. proximity gives online learners a realistic connection to federal and contractor research on human factors and decision-making, and the institution's six-year graduation rate sits near 68 percent.

  • Bachelor of Psychology (BS/BA) — Online
    George Mason University
    • Eight concentrations including Cognitive and Behavioral Neuroscience
    • 120 total credits; at least 39 in psychology
    • Honors program with thesis option
    • D.C.-area research connections in policy and applied fields
    • Lab courses plus professional development requirement
    • Institution-wide six-year graduation rate near 68 percent
    Visit Website
TH

Thomas Edison State University

Trenton, NJ · $5,000 – $10,000/yr

Thomas Edison State University is configured for adult and military learners: the psychology bachelor's carries no state residency requirement and grants credit through CLEP, DSST, portfolio review and military training. Generous transfer policies plus multiple start dates make the degree accessible at almost any pace. Upper level electives in cognitive psychology, learning and perception let students shape the program toward cognitive science, while median borrower debt near $12,500 keeps the financial risk relatively low.

  • Bachelor of Arts in Psychology — Online
    Thomas Edison State University
    • Credit for CLEP, DSST, portfolio review or military training
    • Upper level electives in cognition, learning and perception
    • 120 credits with generous transfer policies
    • No state residency requirement for online students
    • Multiple start dates throughout the year
    • Median borrower debt near $12,500
    • Prepares for mental health, business and public service careers
    Visit Website
AN

Ana G. Mendez University

Orlando, FL · $20,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Ana G. Mendez University delivers its Bachelor of Science in Psychology in both English and Spanish, a bilingual structure that suits students interested in language, culture and cognition in Hispanic and multilingual communities. Coursework covers research methods, prevention strategies and basic mental health care, preparing graduates for case management, mental health specialist and substance abuse counselor roles. The program is approved for VA and military education benefits and is available online as well as at several Florida locations.

  • Bachelor of Science in Psychology — Online
    Ana G. Mendez University
    • Bilingual English and Spanish degree delivery
    • Approved for VA and military education benefits
    • Coursework in research methods and prevention strategies
    • Career paths as case manager or mental health specialist
    • Online or on campus at multiple Florida locations
    • Human Behavior focus area within the major
    Visit Website
UN

University of Arizona

Tucson, AZ · ~$17,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

University of Arizona's research-active psychology department brings cognitive themes such as cognitive development, learning, memory, attention and decision-making into an online Bachelor of Arts that costs $525 per credit. The degree requires a minor or double major, which pushes students into complementary fields and creates interdisciplinary depth. Online research and independent study options let distance learners work directly with faculty, and the institution's six-year graduation rate stands near 68 percent.

  • Bachelor of Arts in Psychology — Online
    University of Arizona
    • $525 per credit; 120 total credit hours
    • Explicit cognitive development and learning themes
    • Requires a minor or double major
    • Research-active faculty in memory and decision-making
    • Online research and independent study options
    • Award-winning advisor support for online students
    • Institution-wide six-year graduation rate near 68 percent
    Visit Website
UN

University at Albany

Albany, NY · $17,000/yr

University at Albany's psychology department has a long-established cognitive area, so its online bachelor's offers students a direct route into coursework and research on attention, memory, language and decision-making. The required sequence includes statistics and experimental psychology, placing cognitive interests on a rigorous methodological foundation. An undergraduate mentor program, an honors thesis option and accelerated bachelor's to master's pathways all help move students toward graduate work. The SUNY institution's six-year graduation rate is roughly 61 percent.

  • Bachelor of Arts in Psychology — Online
    University at Albany
    • Cognitive coursework and research on attention and memory
    • Required statistics and experimental psychology courses
    • Psychology Undergraduate Mentor program
    • Honors thesis option available
    • Accelerated combined bachelor's and master's pathways
    • Covers affective, biological, cognitive and social bases
    • Institution-wide six-year graduation rate near 61 percent
    Visit Website
OR

Oregon State University

Corvallis, OR · $15,000 – $20,000/yr

Oregon State University operates one of the most established online campuses in the country, and its psychology degree trains students in the scientific side of cognition from the start, with core courses in cognitive psychology, brain and behavior, learning and research methods. Ecampus charges $409 per credit with no out-of-state tuition surcharge and offers four start terms per year, practical details for working adults. An honors degree option and stackable microcredentials give students room to build specialized cognitive science interests. The institution-wide six-year graduation rate is near 70 percent.

  • Psychology (BA or BS) — Online
    Oregon State University
    • $409 per credit, no out-of-state tuition surcharge
    • 180 quarter credits with four start terms per year
    • Core courses include cognitive psychology and brain behavior
    • Research, analytical and communication skills emphasized
    • Honors degree, certificates and microcredentials available
    • Institution-wide six-year graduation rate near 70 percent
    Visit Website

How We Ranked These Cognitive Psychology Programs

Ranking methodology shapes which programs you see first, so understanding how these schools earned their positions matters as much as the rankings themselves.

Data Sources and Core Metrics

Every program in this list draws from federal databases: the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) and the College Scorecard. These sources provide standardized, government-verified information rather than self-reported marketing claims. The baseline quality composite weighs three factors:

  • Graduation rate: The percentage of students who complete their degree within 150 percent of the expected timeframe, signaling institutional support and student success.
  • Net price: The average cost after grants and scholarships, reflecting real out-of-pocket expense rather than sticker price.
  • Earnings data: Median earnings for graduates, drawn from Scorecard records that track income after leaving the institution.

Programs with robust online delivery options receive a boost in the ranking, acknowledging that flexibility matters for working professionals and students balancing other commitments.

What These Numbers Cannot Tell You

Transparency requires acknowledging limits. Graduation rates reflect institution-wide outcomes, not cognitive psychology students specifically. Net price represents an average across all aid recipients, so your actual cost may differ based on financial circumstances and merit awards. Earnings figures often aggregate all graduates at the institution or program level rather than isolating cognitive psychology majors alone.

These constraints exist across every college ranking system, though most publications do not say so directly. Knowing what the data captures, and what it misses, lets you interpret these rankings as a starting point rather than a verdict.

Why Methodology Transparency Matters

When a ranking explains its criteria, you can decide whether those criteria match your priorities. If career earnings matter most, you weight that factor differently than someone focused on affordability. This disclosure is not a formality; it is the difference between trusting a list and understanding it.

Cognitive Psychology Degree Levels at a Glance

Choosing the right degree level shapes your timeline, career options, and budget. Here is a side-by-side look at the three main pathways in cognitive psychology so you can weigh trade-offs before applying.

Side-by-side comparison of bachelor's, master's, and doctoral cognitive psychology degrees across duration, credits, capstone, careers, and licensure

Cognitive Psychology Degree Levels Explained

How long does it take to earn a cognitive psychology degree, and what can you actually do at each level?

Bachelor's Degrees: A Foundation, Not a License to Practice

Most online bachelor's programs in psychology do not offer a standalone cognitive psychology major. Instead, cognitive psychology appears as a concentration or track within a broader BA or BS in Psychology. Coursework covers perception, memory, language, and decision-making. These programs typically take four years of full-time study.

Graduates are not licensed to practice independently, but they qualify for entry-level roles such as research assistant, human resources coordinator, or junior user experience researcher. A bachelor's degree also satisfies the prerequisite for graduate study in cognitive psychology. While the ranked online programs in this guide primarily focus on graduate degrees, many universities offer a BA or BS in Psychology with coursework or a concentration in cognitive psychology. If you plan to pursue a career in cognitive psychology, a strong undergraduate foundation in statistics and research methods will serve you well.

Master's Programs: The Applied Sweet Spot

A master's in psychology with a cognitive emphasis is the most direct path to applied careers in UX research, human factors, and educational technology. Online programs typically require 36 to 48 credits and take about two years for full-time students.

For example, Arizona State University's online MS in Psychology requires 36 credits2, while the University of Louisiana at Lafayette's online MS in Psychology requires 38 credits.3 Tiffin University's online MS in Psychology is 41 credits and can be completed in as few as 18 months.4 These programs are designed to build advanced research skills without the extended time commitment of a doctoral degree. You can explore additional online master's in psychology programs for a broader view of what is available.

Master's graduates commonly secure roles such as research associate, analyst, and UX researcher. While the title "cognitive psychologist" usually requires a doctoral degree, many applied positions in tech and consulting treat a master's as sufficient for entry and advancement.

Doctoral Degrees: Required for Research and Clinical Roles

If your goal is to lead independent research, teach at the university level, or provide clinical neuropsychological services, you will need a doctoral degree. A PhD in cognitive psychology emphasizes original research and rigorous methodology, while a PsyD in clinical psychology with a neuropsychology focus is rare and more practice-oriented. For cognitive psychology specifically, the PhD remains the standard.

Doctoral programs typically take four to seven years, including dissertation research and often a year-long clinical internship if licensure is sought. Holding a PhD qualifies you for tenure-track faculty positions, senior research scientist roles in industry, and, with proper licensure, private practice in clinical neuropsychology.

Do You Need a PhD to Be a Cognitive Psychologist?

The answer depends on the job title and setting. National employment data show that most positions with the title "cognitive psychologist" require a doctoral degree. These roles are concentrated in academia, research institutions, and healthcare. However, the skills of a cognitive psychologist (experimental design, data analysis, understanding of human cognition) are highly valued in industry, and many professionals with a master's degree work in closely related roles like UX researcher, human factors engineer, or research analyst under different job titles.

If you want to explore the full landscape of options a psychology background can open, our guide to careers in psychology is a useful starting point. If you aspire to be a "cognitive psychologist" in the traditional sense, plan on earning a PhD. If you want to apply cognitive psychology principles in an applied setting, a master's may be a more efficient and cost-effective route.

What Can You Do With a Cognitive Psychology Degree?

A cognitive psychology degree opens two distinct labor markets: traditional psychology roles tracked by the Bureau of Labor Statistics and non-psychology titles in tech, research, and product development where graduates often earn more. Understanding both paths helps answer whether cognitive psychology is a viable career choice in 2026.

Traditional Psychology Careers

Clinical neuropsychologists assess and rehabilitate patients with brain injuries, dementia, or developmental disorders, conducting standardized testing and designing cognitive rehabilitation programs. Academic researchers design experiments in university labs or R&D centers, studying memory, attention, decision-making, and language processing to publish findings and secure grant funding. The BLS reports the national median for psychologists overall at $94,310, with the 25th percentile at $71,140 and the 75th at $126,340. Clinical and counseling psychologists specifically earn a median of $95,830, while the broader "Psychologists, All Other" category (which includes research and experimental roles) shows a median of $117,580. These figures reflect doctoral-level positions; master's-level roles typically pay less and may carry titles like research coordinator or lab manager.

Cognitive Psychology in Tech and Product Roles

Many cognitive psychology graduates migrate into UX research, human factors engineering, AI training, and product analytics, where job titles rarely include "psychologist." UX researchers conduct usability testing, analyze user behavior data, and translate cognitive principles into interface design recommendations for software teams. Human factors engineers apply perception and attention research to design cockpit displays, medical devices, and industrial controls that reduce operator error. This applied focus on workplace behavior and system design shares common ground with the work of an industrial organizational psychologist, though the theoretical foundations differ. AI and machine learning consultants help tech companies design conversational interfaces, recommendation algorithms, and training datasets that align with human cognition. These roles often pay above the BLS psychologist medians, particularly at major tech firms, but do not appear in psychology employment statistics.

Is Cognitive Psychology a Good Career?

The BLS projects 6 percent growth for psychologists from 2023 to 2033, roughly in line with the average for all occupations. However, demand for cognitive expertise in tech, UX, and AI sectors is expanding faster than traditional psychology openings. Graduates willing to translate their training into product, research, or data science roles find broader opportunity and higher starting salaries than those pursuing only clinical or academic paths. The degree's value depends on whether you view it as a credential for licensed practice or as foundational training for applied roles across multiple industries.

Cognitive Psychologist Salary by State

Because the BLS does not track "cognitive psychologist" as a standalone occupation, the table below draws on the closest proxy category: Psychologists, All Other (19-3039). These are state-level median annual wages and total employment figures, not national averages. Geographic patterns are notable: California leads in both pay and employment volume, while several states with smaller workforces (Oklahoma, Nevada, Nebraska) also report six-figure medians. Coastal and metro-heavy states tend to cluster near the top, though outliers like North Carolina and South Carolina show that strong research corridors and healthcare systems can push wages well above the national baseline regardless of region.

StateMedian Annual WageTotal Employment
California$147,6501,780
Oklahoma$147,010Not disclosed
Nevada$144,390100
Nebraska$137,99050
North Carolina$137,130480
South Carolina$135,950140
Utah$90,270Not disclosed
Oregon$82,960630
Texas$81,8302,160
Illinois$81,270960

Cognitive Psychology Vs. Neuropsychology Vs. General Psychology

Cognitive psychology, neuropsychology, and general psychology represent three distinct branches of study, each with its own focus, training path, and career destinations. Understanding these differences is critical when selecting a graduate program that aligns with your professional goals.

Core Focus and Research Emphasis

Cognitive psychology zeroes in on mental processes: how people perceive, remember, think, and solve problems. Research here is often experimental, relying on computational modeling and lab-based tasks. Neuropsychology, by contrast, examines the connection between brain structures and behavior, typically through assessment of individuals with neurological conditions.2 The central difference is that cognitive psychology studies mental processes in general, while neuropsychology studies how brain injury or disease affects those processes. General psychology, particularly in its clinical and counseling forms, concentrates on mental health diagnosis and psychotherapy, taking a broader view of human functioning.

Education and Licensure Pathways

Training paths diverge significantly: - Cognitive psychology: Typically requires a Ph.D. in cognitive psychology or a clinical psychology Ph.D. with a cognitive emphasis. Licensure as a psychologist follows the same route as clinical psychology if the graduate seeks clinical roles; many remain in non-clinical research or applied settings without a license. - Neuropsychology: Demands a doctoral degree in clinical psychology (Ph.D. or Psy.D.) with specialized coursework in neuroanatomy and assessment, plus a postdoctoral fellowship. Psychologist licensure is standard, and board certification in clinical neuropsychology is often pursued. - General psychology: Requires a Ph.D. or Psy.D. in clinical or counseling psychology, passage of the EPPP, and state-specific exams for licensure. This path leads directly to clinical practice.

Career Outcomes and Work Settings

Cognitive psychologists commonly work in universities, research institutes, or tech roles in UX and AI. Neuropsychologists are found in hospitals, rehabilitation centers, and neurology clinics, performing assessments and guiding treatment.2 General psychologists typically practice in outpatient clinics, hospitals, or private practice, providing therapy and diagnostic services.

How to Decide Which Path Fits Your Goals

If you are drawn to research on mental processes and enjoy experimental design, cognitive psychology suits you best. If you want to work directly with patients who have brain injuries or neurological disorders, neuropsychology is the clear choice. For those seeking broad-based clinical work with diverse client populations, a general psychology program provides the widest foundation. Consider the day-to-day work you envision and the populations you want to serve before committing to a specialization.

Accreditation and Licensure for Online Cognitive Psychology Programs

Before enrolling in an online cognitive psychology program, understanding accreditation is essential. The type of accreditation you need depends on your career goals and the degree level you pursue.

The Foundation: Regional Accreditation

All online and on-campus programs should hold regional accreditation from an agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education. This institutional stamp verifies that the school meets minimum academic and financial standards. Regional accreditation is necessary for federal financial aid eligibility and credit transfer. Many employers also require degrees from regionally accredited institutions.

Doctoral Licensure and APA Accreditation

If you plan to become a licensed psychologist, programmatic accreditation by the American Psychological Association (APA) is the next critical step. The APA accredits doctoral programs in professional psychology fields such as clinical, counseling, and school psychology.1 State licensing boards use APA accreditation as a benchmark for evaluating educational quality. Some states explicitly mandate an APA-accredited doctorate: currently, Georgia, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, and Texas require it for psychologist licensure.2 Other states, including California, New Jersey, New York, and Wisconsin, do not mandate APA accreditation, but they may still scrutinize online programs through additional documentation, such as proof of approved residencies and supervised internships.2

Cognitive psychology, however, is often a non-clinical, research-focused field. No fully online cognitive psychology PhD program holds APA accreditation.3 If you pursue a fully online PhD in cognitive psychology, you may find that your degree does not satisfy licensure requirements in states that require APA accreditation. Prospective students aiming for clinical work must verify accreditation details carefully.

Master's-Level Pathways: No Licensure Needed

A master's in cognitive psychology typically leads to applied roles in research, user experience, market analysis, or industrial settings. These positions do not require psychologist licensure. In fact, master's graduates rarely pursue licensure because the field is designed for non-clinical expertise. This distinction is often missing from competitor resources, but it is vital: a master's degree can open doors to rewarding careers without the regulatory hurdles of licensure.

Online Learning and Licensure: What to Verify

So, are online cognitive psychology degrees accredited? Yes, if the institution holds regional accreditation, the degree itself is credible and recognized. But if your goal is clinical licensure as a psychologist, you must look beyond regional accreditation. Verify that the program holds APA accreditation, and check with your state board about any specific online-learning requirements. Some boards require in-person components like residencies or internships that may be harder to arrange through fully online formats. Students interested in clinical pathways might also explore counseling doctoral programs that carry the necessary programmatic accreditation. Always contact the state licensing board directly to confirm that your online path meets their standards before you commit.

How to Choose an Online Cognitive Psychology Program

Admissions Criteria

Nationwide GRE requirements have dropped sharply: only 5% of online psychology master's programs and 7% of doctoral programs required the exam in 2023-2024.1 Northwestern's psychology PhD set its minimum GPA at 3.60 for 2025-2026, while Miami University and MIT Brain and Cognitive Sciences do not require or accept GRE scores at all.234 These shifts open the door for candidates with strong academic records but limited standardized-test preparation.

Online cognitive psychology master's programs generally recommend GPAs between 3.3 and 3.5, though minimums can range from 2.7 to 3.0. Doctoral programs set their minimum at 3.0 but often recommend 3.3 to 3.6 to remain competitive. Beyond transcripts, expect to submit two to three letters of recommendation, a statement of purpose outlining your research interests, and sometimes a writing sample or CV highlighting lab experience. GRE waivers are increasingly common: review each school's admissions page to see whether you can substitute professional experience or a master's degree for test scores.

Format and Delivery Mode

Online cognitive psychology programs split into asynchronous, synchronous, and hybrid models. Asynchronous formats let you watch lectures and complete assignments on your own schedule, which suits working professionals juggling clinical hours or full-time jobs. Synchronous sessions require real-time attendance for video discussions, seminars, or lab meetings, creating more immediate contact with faculty and peers but demanding fixed weekly blocks. Many programs blend both: core courses run asynchronously while research colloquia or thesis defenses happen live. Before enrolling, confirm whether your schedule tolerates fixed meeting times or whether you need the flexibility to log in at night or on weekends.

Research and Practicum Requirements

Most online cognitive psychology master's programs offer hybrid delivery, and doctoral programs typically require one to three short residencies of three to seven days each. These in-person intensives often cover lab training, capstone presentations, or IRB protocol workshops that are difficult to replicate remotely. Some schools allow you to complete research practica at affiliated sites near your home, while others expect travel to the main campus. If you live far from the university or cannot take extended leave, verify the residency calendar and whether the program will help arrange local research placements.

Cost and Return on Investment

Net prices among accredited online psychology bachelor's programs in the rankings ranged from $1,300 at Texas A&M-Central Texas to $10,359 at the University of Nevada-Las Vegas. Graduate tuition varies even more widely, so compare both sticker tuition and estimated net price after institutional aid. Long-term earnings data shows median wages ten years after graduation between $49,000 and $60,000 for bachelor's completers at ranked schools. Doctoral-level cognitive psychologists in research or academic roles often command higher salaries, but program length and borrowing costs matter: a faster, less expensive master's may offer better ROI if you plan to work in applied settings rather than pursue tenure-track research.

Build Your Own Decision Framework

Rank your priorities before comparing schools. If speed matters most, look for programs offering year-round enrollment and compressed terms. If you want deep research mentorship, prioritize faculty publications and lab access over tuition savings. If state licensure is your goal, confirm that the program meets your board's coursework and practicum requirements. Compare programs side by side on cost, residency obligations, accreditation status, and career-services support, then eliminate any that conflict with your non-negotiables. A structured decision matrix will save time and keep you from chasing prestige alone.

Frequently Asked Questions About Cognitive Psychology Degrees

These are the questions prospective students ask most often about cognitive psychology programs. Each answer draws on the salary data, program costs, and career details covered earlier in this article.

What can you do with a cognitive psychology degree?
Career paths span research, industry, and applied settings. Graduates work as UX researchers, human factors specialists, data analysts, research scientists, and academic faculty. In clinical or counseling contexts, some pursue licensure to practice. Federal data show that psychology professionals nationally earn a median salary well above the overall U.S. median for all occupations, though earnings vary considerably by role, degree level, and state.
How long does it take to get a cognitive psychology degree online?
A bachelor's typically takes four years of full time study, though accelerated or transfer pathways can shorten that. Online master's programs generally require 18 to 24 months. Doctoral programs, including both PhD and PsyD tracks, usually take four to seven years depending on dissertation requirements, residency components, and whether you enroll part time or full time.
Is cognitive psychology a good career?
The BLS projects solid growth for psychologist roles through the early 2030s, and demand for cognitive expertise in technology, healthcare, and education sectors continues to expand. National median earnings for psychologists reported by the BLS sit comfortably above U.S. averages for all occupations. Professionals who combine cognitive science knowledge with applied skills in UX, AI, or clinical work tend to command the strongest compensation.
What is the difference between cognitive psychology and neuropsychology?
Cognitive psychology studies mental processes such as memory, attention, language, and decision making, often through behavioral experiments and computational modeling. Neuropsychology focuses on the relationship between brain structure and behavior, frequently working with patients who have brain injuries or neurological conditions. Neuropsychologists typically need clinical training and board certification, while cognitive psychologists may pursue research or applied industry roles without clinical licensure.
Do you need a PhD to be a cognitive psychologist?
Not always. A master's degree qualifies you for many applied positions in UX research, human factors engineering, market research, and educational assessment. However, a PhD is generally required for independent research roles, tenure track faculty positions, and certain senior industry scientist titles. If you want to practice clinically, most states require a doctoral degree plus supervised experience and licensure.
Are online cognitive psychology degrees accredited?
Yes, many online programs hold regional institutional accreditation, which is the standard recognized by employers and licensing boards. Some doctoral programs also carry APA accreditation. Always verify that a program's parent institution is accredited by an agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education. The accreditation and licensure section earlier in this article walks through what to look for at each degree level.
How much does an online cognitive psychology degree cost?
Costs vary widely. Based on the programs profiled in this article, estimated net prices for online bachelor's and master's programs range roughly from the low teens to over $40,000 per year after financial aid. Doctoral programs can cost more, especially those with in person residency requirements. Always check each school's net price calculator and compare College Scorecard data to get a realistic picture of total out of pocket expense.

More Online Cognitive Psychology Programs to Consider

Below you'll find additional online psychology programs that offer strong curricula and flexible formats. While they didn't make our top 10 list, each provides a solid foundation for students interested in cognitive psychology and related fields.

Washington State University
This fully online Bachelor of Science in Psychology blends scientific research with practical application, covering core principles and offering electives in clinical psychology and social behavior.
  • Psychology
Pullman, WA · Online
Utah State University
Utah State's Psychology program, available online and on-campus, emphasizes research opportunities and practical experience through capstone or apprenticeship courses to prepare for graduate study.
  • Psychology
Logan, UT · Online
Oklahoma State University
The online Bachelor of Science in Psychology is a 120-hour program covering topics like Personality, Pediatric Psychology, and Forensic Psychology, designed for flexibility.
  • Psychology
Stillwater, OK · Online
University of Kansas
KU's online Bachelor's in Psychology is a degree-completion program with flat-rate tuition, designed for students with prior college credit who want to understand human behavior.
  • Online Bachelor's in Psychology
Lawrence, KS · Online
University of Michigan-Dearborn
This flexible Psychology BA/BS program offers online, in-person, or hybrid formats, blending natural and social sciences to explore human behavior with internship opportunities.
  • Psychology
Dearborn, MI · Hybrid
University of Nevada-Las Vegas
UNLV's online Bachelor of Arts in Psychology provides a broad understanding of psychological sciences, with emphasis on research methods, statistical analysis, and critical thinking.
  • Bachelor of Arts in Psychology
Las Vegas, NV · Online
Rowan University
Rowan's online BA in Psychology, aligned with APA guidelines, prepares students for careers in human services, marketing, and community activism through a comprehensive curriculum.
  • BA in Psychology
Glassboro, NJ · Online
Mississippi State University
The online Bachelor of Science in Psychology covers abnormal behavior, social psychology, and cognitive psychology, preparing graduates for further study or immediate employment.
  • Bachelor of Science in Psychology
Mississippi State, MS · Online
East Carolina University
ECU's online BA in Psychology requires 120 credit hours and includes general education, foreign language, and psychology courses, with close faculty interaction on research.
  • Bachelor of Arts in Psychology
Greenville, NC · Online
University of New Mexico
UNM's online BA in Psychology features affordable tuition, five start dates annually, and courses in an 8-week format taught by experienced faculty.
  • Psychology
Albuquerque, NM · Online
Texas State University
Texas State's online BA in Psychology covers lifespan development, psychopathology, and cognitive processes, with up to 90 transfer credits accepted and a per-credit tuition of $404.
  • Bachelor of Arts in Psychology
San Marcos, TX · Online
Arkansas State University
This online BA in Psychology focuses on research design, data analysis, and critical thinking, accepting up to 90 transfer credits at a per-credit rate of $282.
  • Bachelor of Arts in Psychology
Jonesboro, AR · Online
Indiana University-Indianapolis
IU's online BS in Psychology offers courses in behavioral neuroscience, sensation and perception, and abnormal psychology with flexible 8- or 16-week terms.
  • Psychology
Indianapolis, IN · Online
University of North Carolina at Greensboro
UNCG's online BA in Liberal and Interdisciplinary Studies with a General Psychology Concentration provides a flexible pathway for careers in human services with small interactive classes.
  • Liberal and Interdisciplinary Studies, B.A. General Psychology Concentration
Greensboro, NC · Online
University of Idaho
The University of Idaho's online Psychology program offers research participation and internships, with in-state tuition available for full-time online students.
  • Psychology
Moscow, ID · Online

Recent Articles

In this article
Share This:
LinkedIn
Reddit

Follow us